Seton Hill University’s Youth Honors Band will present a concert on Saturday, February 5, 2011, at 7 p.m. in the Carol Ann Reichgut Concert Hall, in Seton Hill University's Performing Arts Center located on Harrison Avenue in Greensburg, Pa. Kathleen Campbell, associate professor of music, will conduct the 78 member ensemble of local 6 - 8 grade instrumentalists. The concert is free and open to the public. For more information contact Michelle Walters at 724-552-2923 or by e-mail at

The concert program will include “Korean Folk Rhapsody” by James Curnow, “Duet” from “Lakme” by Leo Delibes, transcribed by James Curnow, “Distant Thunder of the Sacred Forest” by Michael Sweeney, “The Great Locomotive Chase” by Robert Smith, “West Side Story” arranged by Jay Bocook and “March from Third Suite” by Robert E. Jager, arranged by Douglas E. Wagner.

Students participating in the 2010-2011 Youth Honors Band are from the following schools, listed by hometown:

Acme 15610
Adam Patula, Mount Pleasant Junior/Senior High School

Apollo 15613
Tucker Insko, Kiski Area Intermediate School
Jacquelyn Jupina, Kiski Area Intermediate School
Jake Murray, Kiski Area Intermediate School
Samuel Rinkacs, Kiski Area Intermediate School

Blairsville 15717
Derek Dimatteo, Derry Area Middle School
Joshua Flack, Derry Area Middle School

Cranberry 16319
Rebecca DeGraaf, home schooled

Delmont 15626
Matthew DeCesare, Franklin Regional Middle School
Benny Johnson, Franklin Regional Middle School

Derry 15627
Cameron Akins, Christ the Divine Teacher School
Gary Gray, Derry Area Middle School
Macy Kantor, Christ the Divine Teacher School

Export 15632
Amanda Campbell, Franklin Regional Middle School
Dominic Deluca, Franklin Regional Middle School
Ian Hatfield, Franklin Regional Middle School
Katja Kochvar, Franklin Regional Middle School
Evan McWilliams, Kiski Area Intermediate School
Tori Nied, Franklin Regional Middle School
Nick Nutter, Franklin Regional Middle School
Jessica Smith, Franklin Regional Middle School
Natalie Voigt, Franklin Regional Middle School
Torsten Voigt, Franklin Regional Middle School

Gibsonia 15044
Emily Butler, Pine-Richland Middle School
Lauren Donahoe, Pine-Richland Middle School
Hanna Klei, Pine-Richland Middle School

Greensburg 15601
Nick Comito, Harrold Middle School
Alex Gorr, Aquinas Academy
Mara LeJeune, Greater Latrobe Junior High School
Daniel Nemanic, Wendover Middle School
Tyler Riggle, Wendover Middle School
Juan Rojas, Harrold Middle School
Tasha Simoncini, Wendover Middle School
Nathan Wolfe, Harrold Middle School

Irwin 15642
Julia Gogol, West Hempfield Middle School
Fallon Hammer, Penn-Trafford Middle School
Laura Kerestes, Norwin Middle School

Jeannette 15644
Michael Duncan, Jeannette McKee Middle School
Chad Painter, Jeannette McKee Middle School
Zayne Zalich, Harrold Middle School

Latrobe 15650
Madeline Cavalier, Valley School of Ligonier
Emily Jordan, Christ the Divine Teacher School

Lower Burrell 15068
Joshua Mester, Huston Middle School
Christopher Phillips, Huston Middle School
Michael Schultz, Huston Middle School
Danielle Thomas, Huston Middle School

Manor 15665
Orion Haile, West Hempfield Middle School

Mars 16046
Julie Limback, home schooled

Monroeville 15146
Nick Sherman, Franklin Regional Middle School

Murrysville 15668
Corinne Baker, Franklin Regional Middle School
Ryan Bechman, Franklin Regional Middle School
Jazmyn Charles, Franklin Regional Middle School
Kevin Fu, Franklin Regional Middle School
Tatiana Kinsel, Franklin Regional Middle School
Juliana Landis, Franklin Regional Middle School
Megan McKelvey, Franklin Regional Middle School
Drew Myers, Franklin Regional Middle School
Nicholas Papinchak, Franklin Regional Middle School
Katie Peterson, Franklin Regional Middle School
Madison Pulaski, Franklin Regional Middle School
Drew Ramsey, Franklin Regional Middle School
Richard Satira, Franklin Regional Middle School
Rebecca Scimio, Franklin Regional Middle School
Patrick Shutterly, Franklin Regional Middle School
Stephen Simpson, Franklin Regional Middle School
Brett Trottier, Franklin Regional Middle School
Allison Zhang, Franklin Regional Middle School

New Kensington 15068
Maggie Kuzemchak, Kiski Area Intermediate School

North Huntingdon 15642
Kevin Crust, Norwin Middle School
Irene Pehanich, Norwin Middle School
Matthew Seiler, Norwin Middle School
Megan Seiler, Norwin Middle School
Brannon Sever, Norwin Middle School
Christina Wang, Norwin Middle School

Saltsburg 15681
Chris Haupt, Saltsburg High School
Sebastian Murabito, Saltsburg High School

Trafford 15085
Marcus Beacon, Trafford Middle School

Youngwood 15697
Shannon Deutsch, West Hempfield Middle School

Students can take private lessons and participate in Apprentice Chorus, Flute Choir, Clarinet Choir, and other ensembles through the Seton Hill University Community Arts Program .

Venue Information: The Community Music Program performances are held in the Carol Ann Reichgut Concert Hall in Seton Hill’s Performing Arts Center, 100 Harrison Avenue, Greensburg, Pa. The Performing Arts Center is an accessible and climate-controlled facility. Parking is available in four nearby Greensburg parking areas: the Bell Parking Garage on North Otterman Street (across the street from the Performing Arts Center), the Hellman-Ghrist lot on North Main Street, the Albert Grillo lot on Seton Hill Drive, and the Wib Albright lot off West Otterman Street.

The Youth Honors Band, part of the Community Arts Program at Seton Hill, was founded over two decades ago as an honors band for students of local Catholic schools. After a few years, it was opened to all students in the area. Kathleen Campbell, associate professor of music at Seton Hill University, has been involved from the beginning. Campbell teaches saxophone, aural theory, and woodwind and instrumental methods at Seton Hill University. Campbell is the founder of the Westmoreland Symphonic Winds, a wind and percussion performance and educational organization consisting of professional musicians from southwestern Pennsylvania and qualified music students from Seton Hill University and surrounding institutions. Campbell served as the music director and conductor for the Westmoreland Symphonic Winds, from 1995-2008.

The Community Music Program, part of the Community Arts Program at Seton Hill, is designed to develop the musicianship of children and adults in the local area. The faculty, staff and facilities of Seton Hill University provide a comprehensive program for students wishing to advance their musical training and performance through quality musical instruction. Students who are just beginning, or those who have studied music for many years, can benefit from the knowledge and experience of a professional faculty. For more information on the Community Arts Program at Seton Hill, which includes the Community Music Program and the Seton Hill University Dance Academy, contact Michelle Walters at 724-552-2923.