GREENSBURG, PA- Iva Saraceni, assistant professor of theatre at Seton Hill College, was named “Artist of the Year” for 2001 by the Greensburg Area Cultural Council. Saraceni was presented the award during an intermission ceremony of Winterlude’s Grand Finale on February 24th at the Palace Theater in Greensburg. Linda Connelly, Executive Director of the Greensburg Area Cultural Council, said that Saraceni was chosen by the Cultural Council Committee for her contributions to the theatrical community, noting that the entire board has input into nominations. Each year the Board recognizes one artist and one community leader. “I’m certainly flattered to be this year’s recipient of the Award,” Saraceni said, noting that she was surprised she was selected. “I thought to myself, ‘But I’m just a teacher.’ I’ve always seen my directing and designing for campus plays as primarily the creation of a student learning experience. Being an artist was not in the forefront of my mind.” Saraceni has been a member of the Seton Hill faculty since 1983, during which time she served as the chair of the theatre department from 1994-1998 and has served on a number of College committees. She has also been a member of the Greensburg Cultural Council Arts Advocacy Subcommittee, the Theatre Association of Pennsylvania Education Committee, and the Arts Standards Committee and the Arts Assessment Design Team for the Pennsylvania Department of Education. Gene Saraceni, Ph.D., Director of the Theater Program at Seton Hill was awarded “Artist of the Year” by the GACC in 1990. Other recipients include: Marvin Huls, Director of The Westmoreland Choral Society and associate professor of music at Seton Hill College; Maestro Kypros Markou, Music Director of the Westmoreland Symphony Orchestra; Dr. Roderick T. Booker, Band Director for Hempfield Areas High School, actor Angelo Sembiante; Kenneth Cutway, art department chairman for the Hempfield Area School District; and artist Susan Pollins.