The Seton Hill University 2008-09 women’s basketball team, coached by Ferne Labati, placed sixth in the United States in the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association Division II Academic Top 25 Team Honor Roll. This is the second consecutive year that the team was honored by the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association for its academic achievements.

Seton Hill University’s team finished the season with an overall grade point average of 3.567 and had the best grade point average for the WVIAC and the entire East Region.

“It is always an honor for the WBCA [Women’s Basketball Coaches Association] to recognize these teams for putting together outstanding cumulative grade point averages,” said Beth Bass, Women’s Basketball Coaches Association CEO. “We want to congratulate each and every one of these teams for their efforts in the classroom and want them to know that we celebrate their hard work. My thanks go out to these teams for setting a benchmark of success academically among their peers in the sport.”

“I think the work ethic of the team is outstanding. The way they perform in the classroom correlates with the effort on the court. I am very proud of them,” said Labati.

Members of the 2008-09 Seton Hill University women’s basketball team include: Jordan Burkes, of Coraopolis, Pa., Jill Emberg, of Cowansville, Pa., Orit Farchi, of Petakh Tikva, Israel, Erika Haitz, of North Huntingdon, Pa., Laura Hambruch, of Burt, N.Y., Katie Lintner, of Johnstown, Pa., Laura McCarthy, of Clinton, Pa., Ryenn Micaletti, of New Castle, Pa., Lindsy Muchnock, of Latrobe, Pa., Anne Marie Olesky, of Greensburg, Pa., Jenna Petrini, of Irwin, Pa., Joya Whittington, of Carbondale, Pa. The team is led by Labati, Tony Grenek, assistant coach, and Clarisse Garcia, assistant coach.

According to the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association, this award, given in NCAA Division I, NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III, and NAIA and Junior College/Community College, honors teams throughout the nation that carry the highest grade point average for the entire season based on the nomination submitted by Women’s Basketball Coaches Association member head coaches.