Seton Hill University Physician Assistant student Amanda M. Michalski is one of seven recipients of The Association of Independent Colleges and Universities of Pennsylvania (AICUP) McLean Scholarship for Nursing or Physician Assistant Majors.

Michalski, a native of Coon Rapids, Minn. who is also minoring in psychology, was chosen to receive the $3,000 award for the 2014-15 academic year.

"I am truly honored to be a recipient of the McLean Scholarship, and I cannot thank the AICUP enough for the financial generosity that they have provided me,” Michalski said. “Through this scholarship, I am one step closer to graduating from the Physician Assistant Program at Seton Hill University."

James France, Director of the Physician Assistant Program at Seton Hill said, “Amanda is an excellent student who has faced and overcome adversity with grace. We are proud that she was chosen to receive the McLean Scholarship.”

Michalski serves as the vice president of the Seton Hill University Government Association (SHGA) and has served as treasurer for the Class of 2016. She is the co-founder and vice president of Campus Cursive, a Seton Hill club that promotes spreading kindness and motivational messages through letter writing. She will serve as an orientation leader this fall for incoming freshman students at Seton Hill, assists the women’s lacrosse team and volunteers at Excela Health Westmoreland Hospital in Greensburg.

“I would like to congratulate the winners of this year’s McLean Scholarship on their academic success and leadership skills. All seven recipients represent the type of educated, active and engaged citizens that come from Pennsylvania’s independent schools, and the Association of Independent Colleges and Universities applauds your contributions to our community,” said AICUP President Don Francis. “Additionally, if not for the generosity of the McLean Contributionship, none of this would have been possible. The association is grateful for your unending dedication to the nursing and physician assistant students at Pennsylvania’s independent colleges and universities.”

The McLean Scholarship for Nursing or Physician Assistant Majors is a $3,000 award presented through AICUP and a generous endowment from the McLean Contributionship. It is presented to full-time undergraduate scholars enrolled in a Nursing or Physician Assistant program at one of AICUP’s 88 member institutions. Students must have a GPA of 3.0 to be eligible.

The other recipients of the McLean Scholarship are Nicole E. Caccese from King’s College, Andy Augustin from La Salle University, Joseph Licata from Philadelphia University, Tess M. Onink from Saint Francis University, Emily E. Vizza from Widener University, and Emily Persicketti from Villanova University.

The Association of Independent Colleges & Universities of Pennsylvania (AICUP), the only statewide organization that serves exclusively the interests of private higher education within the Commonwealth, exists to complement and support the work of campus leaders. With a membership of 88 private colleges and universities within Pennsylvania, the Association provides a variety of services and programs tailored specifically to the needs and situation of independent higher education.