Sixty-five local high schools students will receive Women in Science Awards from Seton Hill University at its nineteenth annual Women in Science Day on May 16, 2007.

For the first time, the students honored will also be eligible for new Women in Science Scholarships to Seton Hill University. Each award recipient was nominated by a teacher at her high school. Nominating teachers, as well as the families of the awardees, will also attend Women in Science Day.

Women in Science Mathematics Award recipients are: Laura Albert, Hempfield Area Senior High School; Karyssa Blair, South Allegheny Middle/High School; Katelyn Blotzer, Derry Area High School; Sarajean Byce, Vincentian Academy; Erica Frye, Yough High School; Jessica Geary, Jeannette Senior High School; Ashley Glinsky, Indiana Area Senior High School; Brianne Hennessey, Southmoreland Senior High School; Haley Krol, Elizabeth Forward Senior High School; Cristy Meck, Shade-Central City High School; Amanda Porter, Belle Vernon Area High School; Rachael Revitsky, Greater Latrobe Senior High School; Amber Rex, Fox Chapel Area High School; Sarah Signorelli, Greensburg Salem High School; Hannah Urick, Bishop Canevin High School; Holly Volpe, Penn Hills Senior High School; Kellie Waksmunski, Bishop Carroll High School; Amanda Willard, Butler Senior High School; and Sara Zalewski, Baldwin High School.

Women in Science Chemistry Award recipients are: Katherine Bowser, Greater Latrobe Senior High School; Rachel Chalich, Bishop McCort High School; Hee Young Cho, Greensburg Central Catholic High School;Sara DiLascio, Saltsburg High School; Bridget Fitzpatrick, Our Lady of the Sacred Heart High School; Lauren Grunenwald, Penn-Trafford High School; Brenna Hogan, Hempfield Area Senior High School; April Johnson, Southmoreland Senior High School; Jennifer Kimmel, Somerset Area Senior High School; Nisha Maharaja, Vincentian Academy; Kate McCaffrey, Bishop Canevin High School; Maura Monahan, Blairsville High School; Michelle Morris,Bishop Carroll High School; Meredith Palko, Geibel Catholic Middle-High School; Rebecca Parsons, Jeannette Senior High School; Kelsey Petrik, Blackhawk High School; Haley Ribblett, Yough High School; Lauren Ruhling, Serra Catholic High School; Jennifer Schweinsburg, Derry Area High School; Nan Sheng, Fox Chapel Area High School; Nicole Skellie, Penn Hills Senior High School; Jennifer Terek, South Allegheny Middle/High School; Leigh Wenckowski, Apollo Ridge High School; Lindsay Weyandt, Greensburg Salem High School; Molly Wilson, Belle Vernon Area High School; Meghann Wygonik, Kiski Area High School.

Women in Science Biology Award recipients are: Natalie Baldasare, Vincentian Academy; Chelsea Chedrick, Greensburg Salem High School; Riddhi Desai, Somerset Area Senior High School; Jackie Don, Our Lady of the Sacred Heart High School; Carli Duncan, Saltsburg Middle/High School; Stephanie Guerdan, Quigley Catholic High School; Alexandra Hull, Bishop Carroll High School; Brittany Jones, Mars Area High School; Amanda Leonard, Southmoreland High School; Lauren Mathos, Greensburg Central Catholic High School; Nicole Muha, Shade-Central City High School; Reba Parry, Jeannette Senior High School; Aleksandra Pomiecko, Gateway High School; Heather Prah, Greater Latrobe Senior High School; Maria Rodgers, Blairsville High School; Tiffany Ruff, Mount Pleasant Area Senior High School; Charishma Soni, Indiana Area Senior High School; Jessica Tain, Fox Chapel Area High School; Julie Vidonish, Geibel Catholic Middle-High School; Morgan Wohl, Yough High School.

Sister Margaret Burns, SC, former physics and mathematics faculty member at Seton Hill, coordinated the first Women in Science Day in 1989. The 2007 Women in Science Day event marks the nineteenth anniversary of Seton Hill’s acknowledgement of talented female high school students in our community. In addition to being honored at the awards luncheon, 2007 Women in Science Day attendees participate in “science in action” activities in the University’s biology, chemistry, computer science, forensic science, mathematics and physician assistant labs. Dr. Jamie Fornsaglio, Seton Hill assistant professor of biology, will present the keynote address, “Tales from the Molecular ER: Fighting Cancer by Understanding How Cells Operate,” and Dr. Mary Ann Gawelek, Seton Hill vice president for academic affairs and professor of psychology, will make a special presentation, “Women Scientists: Environments in Which They Prosper,” to the parents and teachers of the awardees.

The Division of Natural and Health Sciences at Seton Hill University offers students dynamic programs in biology, pre-health related fields such as pre-med and pre-vet, biochemistry, chemistry, dietetics/nutrition, mathematics, actuary science, computer science, forensic science and physician assistant; laboratory courses taught by Ph.D. faculty where students receive individualized attention and use the latest instrumentation; active Biology, Chemistry and Math/Computer Science Clubs (the Chemistry Club has earned the American Chemical Society's Outstanding Award for twelve consecutive years, ranking it in the club in the top twenty-five in the nation); internships and research opportunities in industry and academia; and a tradition of successful alumnae in industry, business, government, medicine, health professions, veterinary medicine, and teaching. For more information on Seton Hill’s Division of Natural and Health Sciences, please visit, or call 1-800-826-6234.

Seton Hill University, founded by the Sisters of Charity, is a coeducational Catholic liberal arts university in Greensburg, Pa. Chartered in 1918, Seton Hill offers more than 30 undergraduate programs and nine graduate programs, including an MBA. Seton Hill brings the world to its students through its distinguished lecturers and nationally and internationally renowned centers. Recognized three times by Entrepreneur magazine as one of the nation’s Top 100 Entrepreneurial Universities, Seton Hill has also been named one of the Best in the Northeast by The Princeton Review and one of Pennsylvania’s Top 100 Businesses by Pennsylvania Business Central. In addition, Seton Hill has been named a University of Distinction by Colleges of Distinction, an organization founded by a group of concerned parents, educators and admissions professionals. For more information on Seton Hill please visit or call 1-800-826-6234.


Media contact:

Becca Baker, Associate Director of Media Relations
724-830-1069 / 724-689-3599 (cell) /