Coronavirus Important Updates
Horror Writers Association Presents Awards to SHU Faculty, Alumni

Seton Hill had a significant presence at StokerCon, the annual event of the Horror Writers Association. Held this year in Las Vegas in early May, the conference included “Horror University” workshops hosted by Seton faculty and alumni – many of whom also went home with awards! 

The Bram Stoker Awards, named in honor of the author of the seminal horror novel “Dracula,” are presented annually by the Horror Writers Association for superior writing. (Previous winners include Stephen King, J.K. Rowling, George R. R. Martin, Joyce Carol Oates and Neil Gaiman.) Below is a list of the writers associated with Seton Hill who received – or who were nominated for -  Stokers or other HWA awards this year.

Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection

Stoker Award Winner: Lucy A. Snyder, Seton Hill faculty/mentor, for “While the Black Stars Burn” (Raw Dog Screaming Press)

Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel

Stoker Award Winner: John Dixon, former Writing Popular Fiction Program student, for “Devil’s Pocket” (Simon & Schuster)

Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection

Stoker Award Nominee: Stephanie M. Wytovich, alumna of Seton Hill’s English & Writing Popular Fiction Programs, for “An Exorcism of Angels” (Raw Dog Screaming Press)

Mentor of the Year 

HWA Award Winner: Tim Waggoner, Seton Hill faculty/mentor, for his exemplary service to the HWA’s Mentorship Program.